Just because I needed to tell someone

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Perry Perry
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Just because I needed to tell someone

So sometimes, posts are nothing more than the need to communicate.

I've been sailing for just shy of 40 years now, and have always loved it. After many holidays, hobbies and weekends away, I finally decided to get a boat. My wife and I thought, looked and measured the driveway. (That's where it was to live). After all the research, I bought piccolo, a Seahawk 17. I loved the look of the boat, and the feedback and info meant it suited the intended use for the two of us....that was just over 2 years ago.

What I hadn't expected was that 3 weeks after we picked the boat up, knowing there was probably a year of work to do on bits and pieces to get it to the state I wanted....well, 3 weeks after getting it, we found out my wife was pregnant.

That pretty much put a stop to most work. I managed to get the mast down and rerigged, but that was about it....I did manage to get a cover on the boat.

Now, 2 years later, I have a beautiful 17 month old daughter called Robyn, and up until last week, nothing more than a scrap book of ideas including where to fit a third bunk.

But today is a monumental day. I did a whole load of work on the outboard motor, which is as old as the boat, and was in slightly worse condition.....and today, after taking various bits apart, repairing things etc....it fired, started, belched a whole load of dirt, and ran.

Whilst it's not the boat itself, it was undoubtedly the most complex bit of all the purchase to repair....the rest is just cleaning, painting, and a bit of wood and fibre glass work.