6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Mark Duckworth

Moonraker
This post was updated on .
Dear Fellow Members,
My name is Mark Duckworth, I have been sailing primarily dinghies for nearly thirty years plus have some (limited) yachting experience. Having purchased a Pedro last summer, I hope to take it to Newlyn / Mousehole this season. Whilst the boat in 'fair' condition, it has no foresail and I would be interested to hear where I could acquire one second hand if they are transferable with one from a SeaHawk?
I am pleased to have found this website as I clearly have a lot to learn and hope therefore to build up my knowledge on these boat types from the various contributions already posted.
Although I have a raft of other questions I would like to ask, but will limit them, this being my introductory posting:
i. In view of the shallow keel structure - I am concerned that offshore / coastal sailing may present an issue from drift especially where tidal currents are strong?
ii. I have a Seagull outboard (in reasonable condition) however I wonder if something bigger with more Hp will be needed?
Any comments greatly received.
Sincere regards,
Mark Duckworth (Moonraker)

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New member

Perry
This post was updated on .
Mark

Welcome to Pedro/Seahawk ownership. We are regular visitors to mousehole, so we will keep an eye out for a Pedro when we are there in September.

As for a foresail, do you want new or second hand?

New ones you can get from jeckells, although there are a couple of more local lofts to you that can workout the size and cut one.

Second hand might be harder, as there aren't many pedros and I understand the mast is shorter, so a Seahawk jib won't fit.

I'll have a look at the ones I have, but am not sure any are either suitable for a Pedro, or in a state that I would still call a sail rather than a bag!

Anyway, welcome, and good luck!

Perry

Sent from my iPhone
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Mark Duckworth